About Us

The Office for Faculty Equity & Welfare supports the full participation in academic careers for all scholars, through overseeing and promoting equitable hiring practices, supporting faculty relocation, and supporting faculty over the arc of their careers, including into retirement.

OFEW’s overarching goal is to help the University become its best self, continuing to change the academic culture and climate to reflect the institution’s values for all. OFEW places particular emphasis on diversity, equity, inclusion and belonging in all areas, including the integration of these principles in academic research, teaching, and service.

OFEW is part of the division of the Vice Provost for the Faculty and is led by Associate Vice Provost Julianna Deardorff. 

OFEW welcomes conversations with faculty, chairs, deans, and academic staff. You can reach our office by email (ofew@berkeley.edu) or phone (510-642-1935) (California Relay Service 711). You can also reach out directly to any of the contacts below if you have questions about any of the resources or information on this website. 

Julianna Deardorff, Associate Vice Provost for the Faculty

Professor, Berkeley School of Public Health

510-642-7334
jdeardorff@berkeley.edu

Julianna Deardorff

Karie Frasch, PhD

Director, OFEW
kfrasch@berkeley.edu

Emily Bryant

Project Coordinator, OFEW
ebryant@berkeley.edu

Oasii Lucero

Program Coordinator, OFEW
oasii@berkeley.edu

Matt Detert-Turner

Faculty Relocation and Home Loan Counselor, OFEW
510-642-1989
detert-turner@berkeley.edu

Marc Goulden, PhD

Director, Data Initiatives
415-686-7656
goulden@berkeley.edu

Tracy Pascua Dea, PhD

Academic Climate Program Director
510-664-9850
tpd@berkeley.edu