About Us

Welcome to the Office for Faculty Equity & Welfare!

OFEW supports the full participation in academic careers for all scholars, through overseeing and promoting equitable hiring practices, supporting faculty relocation, and supporting faculty over the arc of their careers, including into retirement.

OFEW’s overarching goal is to help the University become its best self, continuing to change the academic culture and climate to reflect the institution’s values for all. OFEW places particular emphasis on diversity, equity, inclusion and belonging in all areas, including the integration of these principles in academic research, teaching, and service.

OFEW is part of the division of the Vice Provost for the Faculty.

OFEW welcomes conversations with faculty, chairs, deans, and academic staff. You can reach our office at ofew@berkeley.edu or 510-642-1935. You can also reach out directly to any of the contacts below if you have questions about any of the resources or information on this website. 

Sharon Inkelas, PhD

Associate Vice Provost/Faculty
200 California Hall 
Berkeley, CA 94720-1500 
510-642-7759
inkelas@berkeley.edu

Emily Bryant

Project Coordinator, OFEW
200 California Hall 
Berkeley, CA 94720-1500
510-642-1935
ebryant@berkeley.edu

Karie Frasch, PhD

Director, OFEW
200 California Hall 
Berkeley, CA 94720-1500 
510-642-6736
kfrasch@berkeley.edu

Oasii Lucero

Program Coordinator, OFEW
200 California Hall 
Berkeley, CA 94720-1500 
510-664-9850
oasii@berkeley.edu(link sends e-mail)(link sends e-mail) 

Marc Goulden, PhD

Director, Data Initiatives
200 California Hall 
Berkeley, CA 94720-1500 
415-686-7656
goulden@berkeley.edu

Cary Sweeney, MS

Director, UCB Retirement Center
101 University Hall
Berkeley, CA 94720510-643-3212
cary.sweeney@berkeley.edu(link sends e-mail)